Mala Ghedia is an Australian-born actor and filmmaker of Indian background. Her acting career began at 16 years old, appearing in the popular Australian soap Home and Away in the role of new love interest, Monique. After earning her BA in Communications at Nepean University, Mala relocated to London where she trained at the Webber Douglas Academy of Dramatic Arts. 

In 2017, Mala co-created an award-winning short film called No Monsters In Berlin made in collaboration with Syrian refugees living in Berlin. The film won the Jury Prize at the Diversity in Cannes Film Festival as well as best film at the New York Short Film Festival. Mala was selected to present the film at the United Nations in Geneva as part of World Refugee Day. She is currently working on the full feature film for No Monsters in Berlin.

Mala's extensive work in the UK theatre scene includes productions with the Royal Shakespeare Company and in Salman Rushdie's self- directed stage premier of Midnight's Children. She also played naughty nurse Rabindra Shah on BBC's Holby City. Her feature film credits include the Australian drama Jindabyne with Laura Linney and the German apocalyptic action Snowblind with Wim Wenders and Jana Pallaske. Alongside her stage and screen work, Mala is a sought-after voice artist, having worked on many projects including audiobooks, animation, film dubbing and commercials.

Mala Ghedia ist eine australische Schauspielerin und Filmemacherin mit indischen Wurzeln, sie lebt und arbeitet zur Zeit in Berlin. Ihre Schauspielkarriere begann mit 16 Jahren, als sie in der beliebten australischen Soap Opera „Home and Away“ die Rolle der Monique übernahm. Nach ihrem Studium in Kommunikationswissenschaft an der Nepean University zog sie nach London, wo sie an der Webber Douglas Academy of Dramatic Arts studierte.

2017 hat Mala den preis-gekrönten Kurzfilm No Monsters In Berlin co-produziert mit syrischen Flüchtlingen in Berlin. Der Film gewann den Jury Preis beim Diversity in Cannes short film and webseries Showcase, als auch bester Film beim New York Short Film Festival. Mala durfte den Film auch bei den Vereinten Nationen in genf beim Welt-Flüchtlings Tag präsentieren. Zur Zeit arbeitet sie an einem Langspielfilm von 'No Monsters in Berlin'.

Mala hatte zahlreiche Engagements in Großbritannien darunter bei der Royal Shakespeare Company und in der von Salman Rushdie selbst auf die Bühne gebrachten Version seines Romans „Midnight Children“. Sie spielte auch in der BBC-Fernsehserie Holby City mit sowie in einigen Spielfilmen, darunter im australischen Drama Jindabyne mit Laura Linney und dem apokalyptische Actionfilm Snowblind mit Wim Wenders und Jana Pallaske. Neben ihren Bühnen- und Dreharbeiten ist Mala auch eine gefragte Stimmkünstlerin - so ist sie vielfach in Hörbüchern,  Animationsfilmen und in der Werbung zu hören und arbeitet als Synchronsprecherin.